Image default

Neighbour countries of India

India is very vast land. It is surrounded by 9 countries. Neighbour countries of India have cultural and geographical similarities with India. The reason behind this fact is that many of the neighbour countries were once a part of India including Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Myanmar. So let’s see Neighbour countries of India.

# 1. Maldives:

It is a small island in south-west of India. Its capital is Male. It is the smallest Muslim country in terms of area. It consists of numerous small coral islands.


# 2. Sri Lanka:

It is in south of India. Colombo is capital city of Sri Lanka. It is separated from India by Palk Strait. Its culture, religion and geography have close resemblance with that of South India. Sri Lanka has religious importance for Indians. It is because it was Kingdom of Ravan, a villain in Ramayana.


# 3. Myanmar:

Its situated on the eastern side of India. Naypyidaw is its capital. It has common border with Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram states of India.


# 4. Bhutan:

Bhutan is present on east side of India. The capital of this country is Thimphu. Assam, Sikkim, Arunanchal Pradesh and West Bengal touch border of Bhutan.


# 5. Bangladesh:

Dhaka is Bangladesh’s capital. Bangladesh shares eastern border of India that is the longest border that India shares with any country. It shares border with Meghalaya, West Bengal, Assam, Tripura and Mizoram states.


# 6. Nepal:

It is situated on the north-east side of India. Kathmandu is its capital. It lies on the other side of Himalayas.


# 7. China:

China is present in north of India. Beijing is its capital city. Jammu-Kashmir, Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Arunanchal Pradesh share a border with China.


# 8. Afghanistan:

It shares its border with India, is situated on  north-west side of India. Its capital is Kabul. It shares border with Jammu-Kashmir.


# 9. Pakistan:

Pakistan shares border with India on western side. Islamabad is capital city of Pakistan. Gujrat, Rajasthan, Punjab and Jammu-Kashmir share borders with Pakistan.


I hope you enjoyed while reading.


Leave a Comment